Skip to content

Schuyler FFA Holds Banquet – Honors Outstanding FFA Members

By Ava Akers, Reporter

Every year Schuyler FFA comes together to recognize the kids’ hard work, accomplishments, and say a final goodbye to the seniors. This year the seniors in FFA were Gavin Veatch, Addison Spray, Wade Cooper, and Evan Lawrence. The Schuyler County FFA Alumni presented two $300 scholarships to Wade Cooper and Gavin Veatch. The Schuyler FFA also awarded one $300 scholarship to Addison Spray.

Each year members work toward the Greenhand and Chapter Degree medal. The FFA Greenhand Degree awarded to 16 freshmen. The Chapter FFA Degree awarded to 14 sophomores. Those, who received the degree, were awarded their respected pin.

Students, who excel in their supervised agricultural experience programs, can be recognized through the proficiency award program. Members must fill out an application to receive this. It can be awarded at local, state, and national levels, but this was the local award.

Schuyler FFA Proficiency Award Program

Mechanics and Maintenance Entrepreneurship: Garret Summers

Beef Production Entrepreneurship: McKinley Aeschliman

Beef Production Placement: Mark Farnsworth

Food Service Placement: Madison Haley

Food Production Placement: Phoenyx Culler

Forage Production Placement: Eddie Berry

Outdoor Recreational Entrepreneurship: Brayden Jones

Poultry Production Entrepreneurship: Hayden Dixon

Specialty Crop Production Entrepreneurship: Mariah Buckallew

Specialty Crop Production Placement: Easton Kimber

Small Animal Production Entrepreneurship: Ava Akers

Swine Production Entrepreneurship: Kaycee Hart

Turf Grass Management Entrepreneurship: Ryan Farris

Vegetable Production Entrepreneurship: Jacie Morris

Scholarship Pins

Scholarship Pins were awarded to students, who have maintained an A- or above in their agriculture class.

Freshman: Sidney Aeschliman, Ava Akers, Eddie Berry, Mariah Buckallew, Phoenyx Cullers, Easton Kimber, Allie Lanham, and Delaynie Ruths.

Sophomores: Natalee Beeler, Hayden Dixon, Mark Farnsworth, Madison Haley, Kaycee Hart, Ashlyn Laws, and Rachel Wallace.

Juniors: McKinley Aeschliman, Emilee Byrn, Emma Fredrick, and Lilyann Groseclose.

Seniors: Wade Cooper, Addison Spray, and Gavin Veatch.

Star Greenhand Award

This year Mariah Buckallew won the Star Greenhand Award, because she had proven her leadership skills, ability to excel with her agriculture programs, and being there, when the chapter needed her most.

Star Chapter Farmer

Gavin Veatch won the Star Chapter Farmer award for showing that he has the most outstanding farmer program and FFA participation of the chapter.

We also congratulated our Livestock Judging team for making it to state and for placing 14th out of 24 teams. This team consisted of Gavin Veatch, McKinley Aeschliman, Ashlyn Laws, and Jacie Morris.

We also have Mariah Buckallew attending HYMAX this summer. This is a leadership camp that only accepted 75 first-year ag students in all of Missouri.

After we gave out awards, we installed our 2021-22 officers.

Our New Team Is:

President: McKinley Aeschliman

1st Vice President: Jacie Morris

2nd Vice President: Mariah Buckallew

Secretary: Kaycee Hart

Treasurer: Ashlyn Laws

Reporter: Ava Akers

Sentinel: Emilee Byrns

Historian: Sidney Aeschliman

Parliamentarian: Clayton Droste

Chaplain: Natalee Beeler

Junior Advisor: Emma Fredrick

Then these new officers proceeded to finish off our 2021 FFA Banquet meeting.

Leave a Comment